In the same manner that a person can be arrested for driving a car or truck under the influence of alcohol, a person who is operating a boat can be arrested for boating under the influence. If arrested for DUI with a blood alcohol content of08 percent or greater, if you are on probation for a prior DUI, or if you refused to submit to the required chemical test, there will likely to be two separate actions against you: criminal charges in court and an administrative case with the DMV.
DMV hearings take place at your local DMV office and we will present your argument before an administrative judge and prove to him or her that you were unlawfully stopped or arrested; that you were never asked to submit to a blood test; that your arresting officer did not inform you of the consequences of refusing a blood test; or that your test results were less than 0.08%.
International students facing DUI or criminal charges should consult with the immigration and criminal defense attorneys of Chudnovsky Law in order to minimize the effects on their ability to continue to study in the US. UCLA students arrested for DUI should contact Chudnovsky Law's UCLA DUI lawyer to skillfully fight their case.
Because this requirement does not equate to an immediate suspension of your driving privilege, one of the documents you would be released with would function as your temporary driver's license, which many of our clients refer to as the pink paper.” Officially referred to as the DS367 form, the pink paper” DUI Lawyer Los Angeles serves as not only a valid license for the next 30 days, it also serves as notice of your responsibility to notify the DMV within 10 CALENDAR DAYS from the date of your arrest to request a DMV admin per se or APS suspension hearing at one of the four Los Angeles County DMV Driver Safety Offices or DSOs.
When you or your loved one's freedom is on the line there is no substitute for a skilled driving under the influence defense lawyer who knows the system and can successfully guide you through it. We are experienced criminal defense attorneys who can start protecting your interests right away with the utmost confidence and confidentiality.
Even a first time misdemeanor DUI offense carries substantial penalties, including 6 month license suspension, up to 6 months in county jail (though it is unusual for a first offender to do any jail time), Alcohol classes for 3 - 9 months and Fines, Assessments and Fees upwards of to $2,000.
In many cases, the driver is charged with one count of driving under the influence in violation of California Vehicle Code Section 23152(a) VC and driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or above in violation of California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b) VC.
It is irrelevant whether the DUI is caused by alcohol, an illegal drug, medical marijuana, soy sauce, a prescription drug, or an over the counter medicine like common cough syrup; a DUI can be charged regardless of the source of alleged intoxication.